The Eastern Illinois Economic Development Authority (EIEDA) was created by action of the Illinois General Assembly and the Governor on July 13, 2005 by Public Act 94-203. EIEDA is a special district under 70 ILCS 506. EIEDA has a fourteen member body of which three are appointed by the Governor with consent of the Senate, ten are appointed by each of the County Board Chairmen of each of ten eastern Illinois counties and one public member is the Director of the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity or designee. EIEDA is authorized to issue up to $250,000,000 in bond financing.